This photo, dated July 3, 1950, not only shows the patriotic celebration of that year but also the street scene on the east side of Fourth Ave. Shown at the far left is the old Kroger Store and then the five buildings which have since been torn down. Today this is the parking lot area next to Dr. Barnett's building. It is hard to imagine that five structures were nestled in that small area but here is the proof! Nelson's News Stand is the most prominent of these wooden buildings which were some of the oldest on Main St. This is a classic photo of Lake Odessa during the 1950's....including the cars!!!